Fun Frog Facts!

Frogs belong to the Order Anura, the largest of the three groups of amphibians. There are three groups of amphibians. Newts and salamanders (Order Caudata), Caecilians (Order Gymnopiona), and frogs and toads (Order Anura). Frogs and toads, also referred to as anurans, represent the largest of the three amphibian groups. Of the approximately 6,000 species of amphibians, about 4,380 belong to the Order Anura..

There is no taxonomic distinction between frogs and toads. The terms "frog" and "toad" are informal and do not reflect any underlying taxonomic differences. In general, the term toad is used to apply to anuran species that have rough, warty skin. The term frog is used to refer to anuran species that have smooth, moist skin.

Leaping or jumping is used as a means for evading predators, not for normal movement. Many frogs have large, muscular back limbs that enable them to launch themselves into the air.

Here Are Some Species of Frogs!

  • Pacman Frog
  • Glass Frog
  • Goliath Frog
  • Poison Dart Frog
  • Pignose Frog
  • Malagasy Rainbow Frog
  • Australian Green Tree Frog
  • Pool Frog
  • Golden Poison Frog

Quick Frog Facts!!

  • There are over 4700 species of frogs!
  • Frogs are found in every continent apart from Antarctica
  • Every year that a frog goes into hibernation, a new layer of bone forms and you can count these rings to find out the frog’s age!
  • Many frogs can jump 20 times their own height.
  • The study of amphibians and reptiles is called Herpetology, and those who study them are called Herpetologists. The name comes from the Greek word Herpeton which means “something that crawls”.
  • Frogs don’t drink water with their mouths; they “drink” by absorbing water through their skin.